12 bar blues guitar tab

Today I want to show you different ways of a playing a 12 bar blues guitar tab using the same progression.

Usually, blues progressions are made of at least 3 chords. The most basic combination of all is I7 IV7 V7; this style of music is basically developed around them. This means that if you are in the key of G, you would end up with a G7, C7 and D7. Now for the next example I have changed the chord quality a little bit to make it more interesting; I have replaced the G7 for a
Dm/G, the C7 for a C9 and the D7 for a D9. Here’s one of the many ways to play these chords:

The most common way to put this chords together in a real progression is with the so popular 12 bar blues. The 12 bar blues is the most basic progression of all blues. It uses the 3 chords, as I mentioned above and you can basically play any rhythm you want. The following 12 bar blues guitar tab shows a very common rhythm used in Shuffle rhythms. You should play it with your thumb instead of a pick and you usually mute the chords right after you play them without letting them sustain for their full value:

The G Minor Pentatonic or the G Blues Scale would go perfect with the progression above. You can also try experimenting with more scales like the Mixolydian scale, using one for each chord: G Mixolydian for the G7, C Mixolydian for the C9 and finally D Mixolydian for the D9. One very easy variation to this progression is to add more chords in between like this:

In the example above I have replaced a:
● Dm/G on the 3rd measure for a C9.
● Dm/G on the 8th measure for an E9
● D9 on the 9th measure for a Em/A
● C9 on the 10th measure for a D9

These changes give the progression a more jazz/blues sound. Once again, play it with your thumb and mute the chords right after you play them. I hope you enjoy this lesson today and don’t forget to check out all of our collection at GuitarControl.com

Check more lessons on our Facebook Page and YouTube Channel.

And Here’s the link to our original post 12 bar blues guitar tab

Learn guitar online from master musicians